The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is run by the Australian government. NDIS is the new way of providing funding for disability support for eligible participants. The NDIS is a new approach that gives people with disability choice and control over their required supports and services.The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) has now started its full roll out across most of the states and territories in Australia by focusing on transforming the current disability funding arrangements into a flexible and participant-driven system. If you have a disability that is likely to be "permanent" and "significant" you can receive funding from the NDIS. The NDIS funds "reasonable" and "necessary" supports to help you reach your goals and aspirations, and take part in activities to increase your social and economic participation.

Permanent & significant disability & resonable necessary supports
Planning conversations with the NDIS

What is a permanent and significant disability?

A "permanent" disability means it is likely to be with you for life. A "significant" disability affects your ability to take part in everyday activities. To receive funding from the NDIS, your disability must be both permanent and significant.

How does the NDIS help you?

The NDIS funds reasonable and necessary supports. Reasonable and necessary supports are those that will help you:
  • pursue your goals and aspirations
  • be more independent
  • take part in social activities and work
  • actively take part in the community
  • enjoy an ordinary life

What types of supports are funded by the NDIS?

The types of supports the NDIS may fund include:
  • help with personal care activities
  • transport to help you participate in community, social, economic and daily life activities
  • help at work to allow you to successfully get or keep a job
  • therapeutic supports like occupational therapy, speech therapy and behaviour support
  • help with household jobs to allow you to maintain your home
  • aids or equipment to help you do things more independently, including assessment, set up and training
  • home modifications, including design and construction, to help you live at home
  • mobility equipment to help you get about more easily
  • vehicle modifications to your car to make it easier to use

What types of supports don't need to be funded by NDIS?

Some supports are funded by other areas of government
  • Including school teacher aides
  • Hospital and GP visits

Who can utilise the NDIS Supports?

If you are a person with disability who wishes to participate in the NDIS, you must first be assessed against the access requirements.To access the NDIS right now, you must live in an area where the NDIS is available. In some of these areas, you also need to be a certain age to access the Scheme.

When could you be eligible to use the NDIS?

You may meet the disability requirements if:
  • you have an impairment or condition that is likely to be permanent
  • your impairment substantially reduces your ability to participate effectively in activities, or perform tasks or actions unless you have assistance from other people
  • you can't participate effectively even with assistive technology ,aides and equipment
  • your impairment affects your capacity for social and economic participation
  • you are likely to require support under the NDIS for your lifetime

What residency status is required for the NDIS?

You may meet the residency requirements if you live in Australia and: have an impairment or condition that is likely to be lifelong, which reduces your ability to carry out tasks independently.
  • are an Australian citizen OR
  • hold a Permanent Visa OR
  • hold a Protected Special Category Visa
  • Live in an area where the NDIS is available
  • Are under the age of 65 years

What choice & control do you have over your funded supports?

You have choice and the control over how you use funded supports in your plan. That includes choice of how the supports are given and which service providers you use. In some cases the NDIA or others will manage the funding for supports. For example, where there is an unreasonable risk to a participant.

What are some of the conditions that could be considered as disability?

  • Acquired Brain Injury
  • ADD
  • ADHD
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder (inc. Aspergers)
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Developmental Delay
  • Down Syndrome
  • Dysgraphia
  • Dyslexia
  • Epilepsy
  • Fragile X Syndrome
  • Hearing Impairment
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • ODD
  • Paraplegia
  • Quadriplegia
  • Rett Syndrome
  • Some Psychiatric and Mental Health Diagnosis
  • Speech Delay
  • Spina Bifida
  • Vision Loss
For more information on the scheme and when it will be available in your area go to Alternatively, you can phone the NDIA on 1800 800 110.